Anyone's Game
Anyone's Game: Women's football podcast
Podcast: Canavan 'can't stop smiling' after first Glasgow Women treble
0:00
-29:00

Podcast: Canavan 'can't stop smiling' after first Glasgow Women treble

Anyone's Game take in Glasgow Women's win over Stirling, and Motherwell's draw with Partick Thistle

Kaitlyn Canavan “can’t stop smiling” after the Glasgow Women forward scored her first senior hat-trick in Sunday’s 8-1 rout over Stirling University.

Craig Joyce’s side marched 11 points clear of third-placed Kilmarnock in the battle for a play-off spot at the top end of SWPL 2, albeit Killie still have three games in hand.

The visitors had marched into an early lead, but Lucy Ronald, Hannah Cunningham, Mhari Lyle, a Cara Henderson brace and Canavan’s treble consigned second-bottom Stirling to their seventh league defeat in nine.

“I’m absolutely delighted,” Canavan told Anyone’s Game.

“Obviously I’m chuffed for the hat-trick for myself but overall a really solid performance from all the girls.

“This is actually my first senior hat-trick so I’m over the moon with that. I’m delighted. I can’t stop smiling.”

The former Celtic youngster coolly slotted home a second half penalty to secure the match ball.

“I think that’s probably one of the most important things when you go up to take a penalty”, Canavan added.

“You need to be confident. In my head, I just pick my spot and just like to try add to the score sheet the best I can. Obviously I stayed calm and I’m happy it paid off.

Download the Anyone’s Game podcast

Anyone's Game returns with our first podcast of 2022, an as-live coverage of two of Sunday’s big games from both divisions.

Gordon McColm was joined by Robbie Hanratty and Kenny Boag at Glasgow Girls & Women’s 8-1 thumping win over Stirling University as they continue to battle for promotion, and they also made the trip to watch Motherwell and Partick Thistle draw 2-2.

Craig Joyce, Kaitlyn Canavan and Anyone’s Game sponsored Lucy Ronald give their reaction to Glasgow Women’s big win with Kaitlyn celebrating her first senior hat-trick.

And Thistle’s Brian Graham, and Motherwell manager Paul Brownlie and goalscorer Amy Anderson also gave their thoughts post-match.

We’re free this year

Anyone’s Game will be free this season with no paywall, but you can still subscribe for free to ensure you never miss any of our content during the campaign.

0 Comments